Staging for the election of India’s 15th president today | MorungExpress


Artists paint portraits of presidential candidates Draupadi Murmu and Yashwant Sinha, on the eve of presidential elections, in Mumbai on July 17. (Photo PTI)

New Delhi, July 17 (PTI): Nearly 4,800 MPs and elected MPs will vote on July 18 to elect India’s 15th president, with National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate Droupadi Murmu having a clear advantage over opposition Yashwant Sinha, as more than 60% of the votes should be cast in favor.

Voting will take place in Parliament and state legislatures between 10 a.m. and 5 p.m. for which ballot boxes have already arrived at their destination.

The counting of the votes will take place in Parliament on July 21 and the next president will be sworn in on July 25.

With the support of regional parties such as Bharatiya Janata Dal (BJD), Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK), Telugu Desam Party (TDP), Janata Dal Secular (JD(S)), Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD), Shiv Sena and now Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), Murmu’s vote share is expected to reach nearly two-thirds and she is set to become the first female of the community tribe to occupy the highest constitutional position.

The electoral college that elects the president under the system of proportional representation includes elected deputies and members of the state legislatures. Appointed MPs and Deputies and Members of Legislative Councils are not eligible to vote in this election.

The secret ballot system is followed and parties cannot assign whips to their MPs and MPs in regards to voting.

The value of an MP’s vote dropped from 708 to 700 in this presidential poll due to the absence of a legislative assembly in Jammu and Kashmir.

The value of a deputy’s vote varies by state. In Uttar Pradesh, the value of each MP’s vote stands at 208, followed by 176 in Jharkhand and Tamil Nadu. In Maharashtra, it is 175. In Sikkim, the value of the vote per MP is seven, while it is nine in Nagaland and eight in Mizoram.


About Author

Comments are closed.